Auld Kirk of New Cumnock
In 1650, the parish of Cumnock, Ayrshire was divided into the two new parishes of Old Cumnock and New Cumnock. A new church was built for the parish of New Cumnock which was completed in 1659 and stood on the castle hill adjacent to the site of Cumnock Castle the ancient seat of the Barons of Cumnock.
It was one of only two churches in Ayrshire that was built during the Commonwealth (1653-1660) and continued to function until 1833 when it was replaced by a new parish church. The hamlet that had grown around the castle developed into a village with the Auld Kirk of New Cumnock at its heart.
The ivy-clad ruins are a Category B listed building and some parts were badly in need of repair to prevent further decline and preserve this unique historic building which in essence put the ‘New’ into New Cumnock.
Pruning the Ivy
Ivy pruned and self-seeded tree taken away (branch toppled a headstone)
Stunning wall and window forms revealed.
Stone , Timber & Lime Conservation