1843: New Cumnock Documents

The following hand-written note was contained within the capusle recording the Architect, Contractors, Mason and Carpenters involved in building the Free Church along with the names of the Minister, Elders and Committee.


  • Photograph courtesy of Alexis Cairnie, East Ayrshire Leisure


“The foundation Stone of this Church in connection with the Free
protesting Church of Scotland was laid on the 29th August 1843”

George McCartney , Cumnock

William Gibson, Mason, Auchinleck
William Gilmour, Carpenter, New Cumnock
William Mathieson, Carpenter, New Cumnock
John Walker, Carpenter, New Cumnock

Rev. Matthew Kirkland, Minister

James Arthur         John Lennox
David Arthur          Robert McKnight
Thomas Hunter       John Murdoch
Ivie Campbell       William Gilmour


Angus MacDonald       Andrew Miller      John McLellan
Daniel Craig      John Proudfoot      John Houston
David Patrick      Alexander Lennox      William Hunter
John Houston      John Thomson      James Craig
Thomas Hamilton      Archibald Campbell      John Kerr
John Craig       Hugh Black       John Mills
Alexander Sloan      John Callan       William Miller
Alexander Kirkland

Who’s Who